Run across Montana – 3 months till the start

Posted on January 31, 2008 by



Hello Everyone,

I haven’t written an update on P.A.C.E. Trek 2008 for a couple of months and thought it was about time. I will begin the 620-mile, 18-day journey across the state of Montana 3 months from today (on April 28, 2008). Planning and preparation is going well and I am currently working on daily lodging stops for the trek. For those who have no idea what this is about, please visit www.pacetrek.com. To date, we have about 3,000 children registered to take part in P.A.C.E. Trek 2008. They will virtually race me in teams across Montana as I am actually on the road, and I’ll use pacetrek.com as my online classroom to teach from the road about Montana, fitness/health and the importance of setting and pursuing goals. Teams from many states in the U.S., as well as from overseas, will experience Montana in a unique way. I’m just glad that the thousands of kids won’t actually be on the road with me. Finding lodging and meals for that many people would be quite a chore! Please pass along this information to any K-12 teachers you know. Teams of children can sign up through Friday, April 25, 2008.

Some have inquired as to how the forming of the P.A.C.E. Fitness Foundation is going. I’ve decided it would be best to wait until the Montana run is completed in May before advancing the legal process in forming the foundation. I’m simply handling enough at this time between the trek’s preparations, communicating with schools wanting to participate, operating my small business, and being involved in my family’s activities. My vision for the P.A.C.E. Fitness Foundation is alive and well. However, I know precisely the time and focus involved in successfully accomplishing such a solo endeavor and this particular trek will set the stage for forming the foundation – since the primary purpose of the foundation will be to help kids experience “active learning” through virtual treks that teach to a number of academic areas. It truly is my goal to form the P.A.C.E. Fitness Foundation in 2008 and to apply for a 501(c)(3) non-profit status for the organization.

As some of you know, my wife and I are doing another virtual trek curriculum that we created for the 4th and 5th graders of Russell Elementary in Missoula, Montana – where my wife teaches physical education. The students are virtually running along historic Route 66 from Illinois to California (2,278 miles across 8 states). They’re doing great and are learning a lot about the history and geography of the route. You can watch their progress at www.kids66.com.

Finally, I want to thank certain individuals who have contributed financially to P.A.C.E. since I completed my run across America 15 months ago (www.pacerun.com). The kind donations previously given by these people are what is making P.A.C.E. Trek 2008 possible: Joe & Barb Lochner (Joe Lochner Insurance Agency of Redmond, Oregon); Kevin & AnneMarie Ryan (Portland Candle Company, Oregon); The Boyd Family; Ashley McCalla; The McCalla Family; Rick & Laurie Poppleton; Sam Carter; Rev. Richard Mayforth; David & Mary Lippiatt; Suzan Olinger; The MacElrevey Family; James Booth; The Bixler Family; Grant & Mary Zerbe; Scott Giddings; Farmington School Parent-Teacher Organization (Farmington, Illinois); David & Rebecca Marvel; Bruce Wilkison; Jenna Staso; and, Russ Kline. I truly thank each of you for your support of P.A.C.E. and the aim to get kids pursuing fitness, knowledge and their personal goals and dreams in life.

I’ll provide another update on P.A.C.E. Trek 2008 in a month. Until then, remember… if you take care of your body it can take you on some wonderful adventures!

Gotta Run,

Paul J. Staso
P.A.C.E. Trek
(Promoting Active Children Everywhere)

P.O. Box 3404, Missoula, Montana 59806


WEB SITES:

– 2005 Virtual U.S.A. Trek Curriculum – www.seeusrun.com

– 2006 P.A.C.E. Solo Run Across America – www.pacerun.com

– 2007 Virtual Route 66 Trek Curriculum – www.kids66.com

– 2008 P.A.C.E. Trek Across Montana – www.pacetrek.com

Tagged: