Jamel Balhi – Running the World

Posted on March 17, 2008 by



Link recieved from Tony Mangan.

Jamel Balhi was born on April 12, 1963 in Lyon, France. He ran around the world without assistance, linked the different holy cities, was imprisoned in China, crossed over 150 countries, that is to say 250 000 kms in almost 15 years, and all that with no injury ever. While reading this interview, think of the gift Mother Nature gave to him, imagine his voice, calm and smooth, and most of all think of running as a means, not an end. Interview by Philippe Giovanelli
Photos by Jamel Balhi
English version by Aïcha Bahcelioglu

was born on April 12, 1963 in Lyon, France. Today I live in Paris. I am a professional photographer. As far as I can remember, I have always run.

UFO – How and why did you start to run ?
Jamel Balhi
– I started to run to escape. To run away from society, things I didn’t like, boredom. I wanted to go to the sun, to meet nice people, just like when you go on holiday. I felt like going away, being on holiday forever! But it was essentially a rejection of society, the consumer society that makes fools of us, with silly fashions. And I wanted to go to Asia.

It was the hippie culture ?
Yes, the hippie culture. It was an ideal of life.

When did you start to run ?
I’ve always run, I never depended on competitions to. I used to run to go to school, to cross the streets, since I was 7 or 8, actually, as far as I can remember… Then came the competitions but I was too independant…

For the rest of the story:

Link

Jamel’s Web site