Gary Hause walking in Australia

Posted on April 16, 2008 by



Gary Hause has been walking around the world in stages for the past 12 years. He works winters as a waiter in a  restaurant in Florida.Then he hits the road pushing his gear in a 3-wheeled stroller. Check out Gary’s website at www.walkingman.org

Submitted by Tony Mangan.



Howdy from The Walkingman,

Getting ready to leave on the next section of my walk around the world. I will be flying to Cairns, Australia, on May 15th 2008 and start walking south along the coast to Melbourne. I have a 6 month visa and a return ticket from the Melbourne airport.  Might continue on walking  west towards Perth and into the outback aways. Depends on the weather and how much time I have left. I will probably just take my time walking along taking breaks, meeting people, swimming, reading, eating lots of good food and having a good time. It seems as I am getting older I am slowing down and taking advantage of all the situations and people I meet all day. Always nice to meet new people and sit and talk for a while.

So far I have walked 17,222 miles across the USA, Europe, UK, Mexico, Central America, South America, and New Zealand. I have about 20,000 more miles to walk across Asia, Australia, Africa, and South America to break the Guinness Book World Record of 37,000 miles for walking around the world, set by Arthur Blessit. Although they no longer list his world walking record in their book anymore.

I am just finishing up working the winter here at Ocean Reef Club (www.oceanreef.com) in Key Largo Florida. Heading back to my hometown of Newfane, New York where I will visit family and friends.  I will be in the Newfane, New York area from about May 5th to the 15th if anyone wants me to give a free talk about my world walk to any schools or groups. Email me at walkngaryhause@yahoo.com .

Every night right after sunset I pitch my tent just off the road and get a good nights sleep. Up at sunrise every morning I break camp, cook up a single pot of oatmeal, 2 eggs, instant coffee, and sugar,  and start walking. Usually I average about 20 to 25 miles a day, stopping to shop for food, rest breaks, talk to locals, go swimming, and enjoy observing the local plants and animals. Lots of nice people stop to talk and ask me what I am doing. People are always giving me food and drink, and sometimes invite me into their home for a home cooked meal, hot shower, and to stay over. Always makes me appreciate the simple things in life, a hot shower, home cooked meal, and kind people.

I usually eat about 6000 calories a day to keep me going. Yogurt, granola or oatmeal, eggs, apples, bananas, oranges, bread, cookies, dates, raisins, lots of sun tea, and a pint of ice cream if I can find it. I push a three-wheel baby jogger (www.bergdesign.net) loaded with all my gear. Tent, sleeping bag, clothes, food, water, mini computer, and Grundig shortwave radio. Usually about 50 to 75 pounds. I write a weekly article about my journey on my pocketmail computer (www.pocketmail.com) and post it with photos on my website at www.walkingman.org. Also I have some new Walkingman comic strips about my walk drawn by Micheal Treat on my website. You can also see an ABC News video with me walking and answering questions. My webmaster Mike Kreidel has added a flash movie with photos and the song Walk 500 Miles by the Proclaimers.

Lots of people ask me why I am walking around the world. I tell them I am doing it for fun, adventure, exercise, and a cheap way to see the world. Every day I get to see the sun rise and set, meet lots of nice people, get lots of good exercise, and something unusual happens to me everyday. You never know what’s going to happen, whom you will meet, or what the weather will be like. It always reminds me of reading books like “The Hobbit”, or “Walk Across America”.  You never know what kind of adventure you are going to have. Always nice to lay down in my tent after a full day of walking,  watch the moon and stars come out, and think about what happened over the course of the day.

Email me at walkngaryhause@yahoo.com, or from my website at www.walkingman.org, if you have any questions or comments about my walk.

Keep on walking, Life is amazing.

Gary Walkingman Hause.

Tagged:
Posted in: Australia