PACE trek in Helena, Montana

Posted on May 16, 2008 by



Hello from Helena, Montana!

I arrived in Helena yesterday afternoon and in about an hour I’ll be hitting the road again to go up and over the Continental Divide to Elliston, where I’ll stop for today. I’ve spent 14 days on Montana’s highways and have logged 447 miles to date – which is 72% of the total 620-mile distance across Montana. I’m looking forward to arriving in my hometown of Missoula this coming Saturday, and I’m truly excited about reaching the finish line at the top of Lolo Pass (Idaho border) on Monday morning. By the way, I am planning on arriving at Russell Elementary School in Missoula at 5:30pm this Saturday (May 17). The school is located on Russell Street right next to the YMCA. My family will be there and I want to extend an invitation to anyone who may want to come out to Russell School to say hi. It will be the last time that “Bob” and I will run into Missoula.

As I write this the wind is blowing fairly hard outside and the clouds have rolled in. It could be a challenging day over the Continental Divide! All of the participating school teams that have been virtually running and walking with me are doing great. Some have already finished the trek while others are getting closer to the end. If you haven’t checked out the latest happenings, including a snowstorm a couple of days ago that I went through, just go to http://www.pacetrek.com/journal.htm.

Have a wonderful day and I’ll keep moving west.

Keeping on PACE,

Paul J. Staso
P.A.C.E. Trek 2008

P.O. Box 3404, Missoula, Montana 59806

Web: www.pacetrek.com



Tagged: