Blistered but still beaming after run

Posted on June 15, 2008 by



From http://www.middletonguardian.co.uk

INTREPID runner Tracy Lawless was one of only two women to complete a 145-mile ultramarathon from Birmingham to London.

The 33-year-old pounded paths along the Grand Union Canal from the centre of Birmingham to Little Venice in central London.

Tracy suffered from hallucinations, blisters, fatigue and periods of nausea during Britain’s toughest non-stop race.

She managed to snatch just 10 minutes of sleep in the back of a car and at one point she said she even fell asleep while walking.

Tracy, a member of the Middleton Harriers, completed the run in 43 hours 50 minutes, within the 45-hour time limit.

She was the second woman to cross the finish line and she was 26th out of 29 competitors who completed the race which started with 75 participants.

She said: “It was gruelling, and after only 15 miles I was suffering from blisters. I also felt nauseous quite early on.

“There was heavy rain on Sunday morning until the afternoon, and my trainers were soaked through.

“At one point I had a pep talk from my support crew. I was so exhausted and my feet felt like they were on fire.”

Tracy, whose support crew included her husband Garry and friends from Middleton Harriers, expects to have raised in the region of £1,600.

Proceeds will go to the Terence O’Grady Club in Oldham for people with learning disabilities.

Her brother Michael Wharton is a member of the club, and Tracy is a regular helper. It was this cause that made Tracy determined to complete the race.

She added: “When I told people I had only been running for three years, and the most I had done before was 37 miles, they were impressed.

“I felt numb to have finished, I felt exhausted.

“But the camaraderie at the check points and people cheering for us on the canal bridges gave me a boost.”

Posted by Stuart Barrington

Posted in: Races, United Kingdom