Running America 2008 – Is under way

Posted on September 19, 2008 by



Main site:
http://www.runningamerica08.com/

Day 6
September 18, 2008
by Charlie Engle

Itâ?Ts about 6:15 pm and at the moment, we are currently trying to figure out how to customize an
orthotic to take pressure off the ball of my foot. I have massive bruising on the ball of my
foot. What Iâ?Tm really doing is building up my arch to keep the ball of my foot from striking
the orthotic.

Whatâ?Ts happened over the past few days has basically been one problem causing another, and we
are now up to about the 8th problem. This all started with a simple cold and small infection
which led to a rash which led to me changing my running gait, which led to blisters, further
causing me to change my running which resulted in Achilleâ?Ts tendinitis. This has led to bruising
on the bottoms of both feet. My feet have been striking the ground harder and in a different
way than usual.

Iâ?Tm going to leave the Super 8 now and start running in about an hour. Iâ?Tll be heading into the
open desert where there are no super 8â?Ts or cell signals for the next 3 days. I wouldnâ?Tt be
surprised if I did find a slot machine, though. The goal is to get as many miles in as possible,
whether I run or walk. I plan to do this until about noon tomorrow.

Technically, Iâ?Tm only a few miles behind, and still within reach of the pace that I need. Itâ?Ts
critical now to get healthy. Iâ?Tm really only 3 miles behind at this point, considering that this
is day number 6.

I never had any doubt as to how difficult this would be, but itâ?Ts turned out to be even more
challenging than I ever could have imagined. My guess is, Marshall is about 50 miles in front
of me at this point. I should close that gap tonight while heâ?Ts sleeping, but heâ?Ts having some
of his own issues with his Achilles and the heat and hydration, but overall he is just moving
steadily forward and continues to amaze me. Heâ?Ts the only guy I know that can take a shot at
the record for the fastest trans continental crossing and get discounts with his AARP card
along the way. Heâ?Ts my hero.

Tagged: