PACE trek – Alaska

Posted on October 10, 2008 by



Hello From Alaska!

Today is Saturday, October 4, and I am currently in the BIG state of Alaska where I am finalizing the route for P.A.C.E. Trek 2009. Currently, I am in Tolsona, Alaska – which is about 170 miles east of Anchorage on Highway 1. I am at the “cabin” that my father built and have enjoyed several days here with my parents – including the celebration of my father’s 75th birthday. I will begin my travel back to Montana next Tuesday, where my wife and children are busy with the autumn routine of school and sporting events.

As I write this, snow is falling outside the window on this cloudy 27-degree day. Since arriving here on Tuesday night we’ve received about 8 inches of snow, which has made for some challenging runs along wilderness paths in this remote part of Alaska’s interior. Animal tracks abound, but I haven’t run into any moose or bears… yet.

Within the next week I should be posting the final Alaska route for 2009 at www.pacetrek.com/route.htm. One of the challenges that I’m continuing to face is getting word of P.A.C.E. out to schools about this free opportunity. I’ve asked before, but am going to ask again… if you can provide the link to www.pacetrek.com to educators you know, I would truly appreciate it. The 3-week, 500-mile trek through Alaska begins in 200 days.

Also, don’t forget that adults can form teams for free and participate in P.A.C.E. Trek 2009 via www.stepthere.com.

If you would like to see a couple of pictures from my past few days here in Alaska, you can go to my journal page at: www.pacetrek.com/journal.htm.

Gotta Run,

Paul J. Staso

P.A.C.E. Trek (Promoting Active Children Everywhere) P.O. Box 3404, Missoula, Montana 59806

Paul’s Solo P.A.C.E. Running Treks:

©¤ 2006 P.A.C.E. Run Across America – www.pacerun.com ©¤ 2008 P.A.C.E. Trek Across Montana – www.pacetrek.com/montana ©¤ 2009 P.A.C.E. Trek Through Alaska ¨C www.pacetrek.com (kids) and www.stepthere.com (adults)

Paul’s Running/Walking Curriculums:

©¤ Virtual Trek Across America Curriculum – www.seeusrun.com ©¤ Virtual Trek Along Route 66 Curriculum – www.kids66.com

Tagged: