The nature of being

Posted on April 30, 2009 by



Posted by www.mastercompetitor.blogspot.com:

A great thing happened on the way to the movie theater…I encountered the earth.

Disney’s new nature flick is worth a watch. Here’s a link to the movie trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JLz_1LNAuAQ

The film is narrated by James Earl Jones. Polar bears, African elephants and humpback whales are the actors (actanimals?) who share their journeys, triumphs and tragedies.

I pondered life during and after viewing this epic environmental event: Just who am I and where do I fit into the realm of this planet?

Bottom line, I’m quite removed from the happenings of nature and live in a sheltered urban environment. There’s only one piece or part of me that connects with wild side – and that’s ultrarunning.

I’m thankful that on at least a few occasions, I can go deep into an untapped world that man has not yet consumed. And for that 10 to 30 hour period, I can have a brief yet revealing insight into the balance between plants, animals and man.

See the movie if you can. Think about this great planet and about how we can be a good steward of the resources we have been given.

A great running friend once told me, “leave only footprints, take only memories.”

I want to be part of nature, not stand against it. The next time we leave the trailhead and journey into the woods, let’s be thankful that our playground is so rich and full and populated.

Posted in: ultrarunning