Coburg 6 hour Results – 2010

Posted on March 8, 2010 by

2010 6H – Provisional Results

Hello everyone

Please find enclosed the Provisional Results from today’s Coburg 6 Hour
Championships. While I could not be there due to a family wedding, the
feedback is that all went well and the results seem to reinforce that
view. Of the 35 entrants, 33 started the event and most were still
circling the track when the final gun sounded 6 hours later.

The event was started in wet conditions as the last of the torrential
rain of Saturday passed over Melbourne. Luckily conditions cleared as
the race progressed and overall conditions seemed conducive to good
running and walking.

Three of our championship records were broken:

Dean Cook won the 6H run overall with a fantastic distance of 79.584km,
breaking the Championship record by nearly 2km and I am guessing that
his distance may have set a new M35 Australian standard.

Sharon Sholz won the women’s 6H run with an excellent 71.927km, breaking
our Championship record by some 6km and I am guessing that her distance
may have set a new W30 Australian standard.

Michelle Thompson won the women’s 6H walk (her first walk attempt) with
an excellent 49.133km to break our  Championship record by nearly 3km
and breaking the current W40 Australian record by over 3km.

We will check the results over the next week before we confirm the final
results but we have a high level of confidence and do not expect any
major changes overall.

Well done to everyone on a great day’s work. Now we roll on towards our
Coburg 24H Championships on 17-18 April. We already have 32 entries and
I expect numbers to swell in the final leadup period.

Kind regards


Tim Erickson
Coburg 24 Hour Carnival Organizing Committee