Delhi to Wagah Run – August 2010

Posted on May 12, 2010 by



Well done Rajat for thinking of this.  I hope it comes off.

http://web.me.com/drrajatchauhan/Peace_Run/Welcome.html

During my stay in London, I became very close friends with some Pakistani nationals who were studying there as well. We all realized that we spoke the same language and had the same culture, then why the divide and the hate amongst us? It’s ironical that this realization happened in a foreign country, the one that  was responsible for drawing a line across India’s heart, dividing it into two.

In 2004, I had attempted a run from Paris to London (I had to stop after 5 days of running a marathon everyday, after reaching the English channel). If countries that had 100 years war, could be at peace and be part of the same European Union, then why not India and Pakistan? I decided then, that one day, I would run between Islamabad and New Delhi. Aren’t there bigger problems like poverty that we need to join hands to fight against?