Report from Peter Rietveld on the road

Posted on April 15, 2007 by



Peter Rietveld seems to be having a GREAt time in his run across Austria.

Here is a progress report from yesterday:

Foto: Unterwegs
Tag 7: Sankt Johann in Tirol – Zell am See
Datum: 14.04.2007
Start: 09.00
Ankunft: 15.15
Distanz: 56 km
Laufzeit: 5.05
Gesamtzeit: 6.15

First of all I am happy to see that Georg who so spontaneous joined the run
a few day ago signed up (http://www.run-for-lives.at/Georgi/) as well as I
am delighted to see the name of supersammler Max Riß, although this time he
choose not to run with me but joins the VCM as many do this year.

A very nice surprise this morning when the Achendamm Runners showed up with
four persons.
Markus und Michael haben mich bis Fieberbrunn, Kathi und Toni bis Hochfilzen
und Harald (old Harry) bis Leogang begleitet. He then forgot his cap in my
jogger, normally all things left behind werden versteigert and added to the
donations, but in this case he can pick it up at Luggi´s.
Franz cycled all the way with me to Zell am See while making sure that I did
not make more detours than neccesary. This piece was new for me as last year
I ran over Lofer. The radwanderweg was clearly longer than what map24 said
it would be the distance for cars.
In Saalfelden I figured we had another 8 or 10 km to go, but the map and
locals confirmed that it would be another 17 km!!!!. Impossible I said
stubbornly and luckily I was right and it were only another 16 km to go.
It´s all in the mind and 16 km is not more than three times 5 and 1 km
auslaufen. With a pace of 5 min/km it was done in no time and I arrived
still pretty fresh.

Christoph took me to Luggis place where I will stay for the last night now
and enjoy their incredible endless hospitality. We chatted away over a beer
about mid-life crisis, mit-lauf crisis and ended with mit-leid crisis.

Talking about crisis, when Ludwig took me to the start this morning I
noticed in his car that he has heating “IN” his front windshield!!!!!!!!
While people in other countries do not have clean water to give their
children, we have heating in glas so that we do not have to scratch the
frontshield in winter.

You can read more about Peter’s run at:

http://www.runforlives.at/