Another Great report from the OC-100: Seeker on the Trails

Posted on October 14, 2011 by



   Submitted by Tom Sperduto

    Check out his blog at
     The Oil Creek 100 Mile Train Run in 2011
began for me in May. I remember it as a blur. It began with my wife Jen and I
drinking too much wine on our couch and getting into some seriously deep
conversations. I remember Jen telling me that I was different when I was
running. I had stopped for eight months. Eight long months that were spent doing
a lot of soul searching and can best be described as depressing. Somewhere in
our conversation Jen told me what I needed to hear, “You need to run Oil Creek,
again.” I had dropped last year at mile 62 and for several reasons had not
started running again after the race. We decided I would run again and Jen had
encouraged me and motivated me to a place that had me in tears. Try to remember
Adrian telling ROCKY to “WIN” after having ROCKY Jr. in the hospital. Then
Mickey yells, “WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR?! TAKE THIS!” That’s how I felt. Game on.
Time to get to work. It was a decision I could not make on my own. We made it
together and that meant we were in it together and that’s what made all the
difference. I registered for the race right then and there on the couch and we
both got a good laugh when I got a message from Katie Hoban Peterson the next
morning that I had registered as a 90-year-old. It was one of those nights and
the last one I would have for four months. I ran the next day because I said I
would. I was training for the Oil Creek
100
again. I was dreaming again. It was time to hit the trails.

PREPARATION

I have
trained on the beautiful trails at Merrill Creek Reservoir near my home a lot in
the past. What I did not know was that I had only seen a small portion of what
those trails have to offer. On the other side of the reservoir I found a climb
that reminds me of the ski slope at Virgil Crest. I would become intimately
acquainted with this section of my favorite training ground. Not long after
deciding to run Oil Creek again I teamed back up with my coach Lisa Smith Batchen. Lisa is one of my
favorite people in the world. Not just because she is an amazing coach who has
the ability to get the best out of you, but because her heart is bigger than any
mountain she will ever help you face. It felt like old times. Jen, Lisa and I
were realistic about Oil Creek. I had jumped into training very late and I was
very out of shape. I had difficulty getting to 10 miles on my early long runs.
We had all decided that if Oil Creek doesn’t happen this year there will always
be next year and other races. A lot of my training runs were spent thinking
about Oil Creek in 2012. I was just happy to be running again.  I had a three
race plan in my training – Mahalon
Mayhem 50K
, Labor
Pains 12 Hour
and the Virgil
Crest 50 Mile
. Oil Creek would depend on the outcome of each of these races.
Each one of those races changed me in some way. After completing Virgil Crest
faster than last year in some of the worst mud I have ever run in, I knew we
were headed back to Oil Creek. When my family was sleeping that night in our
hotel after Virgil Crest I sat alone on the bathroom floor and I cried. I never
expected to be back in the place I was. I was overwhelmed with the thought of
where I was going. Oil Creek isn’t just a race for me. It’s my reminder that if
you seek God He will find you. You just need to face in the right direction and
get moving.
Problems on the Trail
The
first loop (31 miles) was the best of my race. I felt really good and I
completed it in 7:58. This is a faster pace than I am use
to but Lisa and I had decided on a faster start since I am a runner who is often
chasing cut offs. This first loop made all the difference as I soon ran into
problems that slowed me down significantly. First came the blisters on the balls
of both of my feet under calluses and on both heels. The balls of my feet felt
like I was stepping on knives for 40 miles. Next came the worst chafing I can
ever remember on my legs. I had run the skin off my legs and it was a mess on
both sides for the entire second half of the run. I felt like I was on fire.
Next came awful stomach problems and I was wretching on the trail and unable to
keep any food down for the last 20 miles. I completed the second loop in
10:02 and the third in 10:35. Both loops
much slower than I had hoped for but considering the blisters, chafing and
stomach issues I was glad to still be moving forward. If I would have taken it
easier on the first loop I would not have finished the race.

Night on the Trail

I spent
the dark hours running with an amazing ultra runner named Farouk Elkassed. I
spent the night behind him and getting lost in the rhythm of our breathing and
our movement. I remember a time when I felt like I was floating along and I no
longer felt any pain at all. We were moving at a very good pace and I felt like
I had run very far inside myself – if that makes any sense. I was comfortably
floating along. This was also the time for my favorite hallucination of the
race. I looked up at the sky and I saw a gigantic jack o’ lantern. It was HUGE.
I couldn’t believe someone had somehow brought a Batman signal and set it up to
put this giant jack O’ lantern in the sky. I remember saying. “Farouk! Check it
out! It’s a GIGANTIC Jack O’ Lantern!” It’s amazing!” Farouk looked at it for a
good two minutes before responding. “Dude, that’s the moon.” I wasn’t fully
convinced but one thing is for sure. It was beautiful.
Seven
Miles with
Tom
Lane
– Redemption
Run
Farouk and I had run  together right through the sunrise and when morning fully arrived he was
energized and I was finding it hard to keep up. At this part of the race I was
dreaming of porta johns and stopping at everyone to empty out my stomach that
refused food and now water. Farouk was soon way ahead of me and I was alone on
the trail. I finally made it back to the school and Jen was waiting at the
bridge for me at mile 93. I don’t remember much of this arrival. Jen says I
didn’t acknowledge her at all and was blindly staring into space. I took more
time at this aid station than any other. I changed my socks, used the bathroom
(again) and tried to eat a bit but my stomach wasn’t having it. I was dreading
the last seven miles especially knowing that the last climb called “the Truth”
was awaiting me. Tom Lane walked with me a bit out of the aid station and then
decided to pace me for the last seven miles. This was the best part of my race.
Tom is “that guy” you want to know. He is kind to everyone and makes you look at
yourself and reevaluate how you treat others. I hardly thought about the last
seven miles running with Tom – and yes, he had me RUNNING again. It reminded me
of Jimmy Dean Freeman coming
out to run with me at the end of the Brazil
135
when I was barely hanging on and wearing Crocs for the last 30 miles
since me feet were no longer recognizable. People like these guys find ways to
motivate you when you are at your lowest and get you moving and smiling again.
When we got to the hill called “The Truth” I told him how much that name moves
me as we moved up it. If I have one regret from my race, it’s not sharing how I
really felt with Tom climbing up that mountain at mile 96 with tears in my eyes.
I knew exactly what I would be thinking about if I made it to “The Truth.” These
words:
“I tell  you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say
to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be
impossible for you.”  
Matthew  17:20
I had  once again lived those words and a few short miles later I crossed the finish
line at 31:39:39 and Race Director Tom Jennings handed me my redemption buckle.
I turned to Jen and said, “Where’s your hat?” Without her I would never be
standing there battered but indescribably happy. Without her I would not be the
man I am today and I am proud to say I like who I am. I am a seeker. I am a
dreamer. I am a lion chaser. I am a man not afraid to love. I am a friend of
God.
Final  Thoughts
Oil  Creek is not just a race. It’s become a family reunion in three short years. The
volunteers aren’t just there to feed you they truly care about you. This race
touches so many lives you don’t need to be a runner to experience the love this
run creates. For me, it’s an example of everything that is right in the world.
It’s not just about running. For me, running is way down the list. It’s about
living in the moment. It’s about chasing dreams. It’s about loving your
neighbors and caring for others and helping others be the best they can be.

Photo by Jen Sperduto

via Seeker on the Trails.